Julian Alaphilippe wins sprint finish as Adam Yates keeps leader’s jersey

Julian Alaphilippe wins sprint finish as Adam Yates keeps leader's jersey

Julian Alaphilippe won his second stage at this year’s Tirreno-Adriatico, and the third for his Deceuninck-Quick Step team following Elia Viviani’s win on Friday, after the Frenchman won a sprint finish at the end of the 195-kilometre sixth stage from Matelica to Jesi.

Davide Cimolai (Israel Cycling Academy) finished second, while Italian national champion Viviani fought back to claim third spot.

Just five days out from the opening monument of the season and the Belgian squad, who have a 100 per cent win record in this year’s classics, will go to Milan-Sanremo confident of winning their first classicissima di primavera since Filippo Pozzato in 2006.

Adam Yates of Mitchelton-Scott, meanwhile, retained his leader’s blue jersey with the Briton now expected to claim the biggest stage race of his career on Tuesday when the seven-day race concludes with a 10km individual time trial around San Benedetto del Tronto.

Source link