live fourth round scores and leaderboard latest

live fourth round scores and leaderboard latest

Welcome to day four of the Players Championship!

We’re set for a enthralling final day out at Sawgrass, which is bound to be influenced by the deteriorating weather conditions. The forecast is suggesting a day splintered by rain showers, while a 20-25 km/h northerly wind is bound to cause havoc out on the course, especially on the longer par-fives.

Adding to that, the air is notably more humid today, which could also suit the probing Rory McIlroy who seems to perform better on softer courses with a greater ability to spin the ball (note the Open at Hoylake in 2014). He’s just a single shot behind overnight leader Jon Rahm, and the Northern Irishman will be desperate to claim his first win since last year’s Arnold Palmer despite not admitting it to the media. That said, the Spaniard won’t be giving up without a fight and you’d be a brave person to pick against him giving his current form. He’s finished outside the top 10 on just one occasion in his last eight starts.

And don’t forget Englishman Tommy Fleetwood, who remains in the hunt despite a fairly awful front nine holes yesterday where he was three-over thru seven. He rescued his situation on the back nine with four birdies, and he’ll be in the final pairing alongside Rahm.

Glance further down the leaderboard and you’ll spot Major-winners not too far adrift, with Jason Day on 12-under and Dustin Johnson on 10-under. Throw in the likes of Keegan Bradley and Brandt Snedeker also on 10-under, and surprise package Abraham Ancer on 11-under, and it’s clear we’re set for a very tense final day in Florida. 

Notable tee times to come…

16.05 GMT –  Tony Finau, Bryson DeChambeau
16.15 GMT –  Eddie Pepperell, Justin Rose 
16.25 GMT –  Kevin Kisner, Jhonattan Vegas 
16.35 GMT –  Patrick Reed, Adam Scott 
16.45 GMT –  Jim Furyk, Joel Dahmen
16.55 GMT –  Dustin Johnson, Brian Harman
17.05 GMT –  Brandt Snedeker, Keegan Bradley
17.15 GMT –  Abraham Ancer, Ollie Schneiderjans
17.25 GMT – Rory McIlroy, Jason Day 
17.35 GMT – Tommy Fleetwood, Jon Rahm

Source link