Ross Barkley was right to take penalty, says Chelsea manager Frank Lampard

Ross Barkley was right to take penalty, says Chelsea manager Frank Lampard

Frank Lampard has backed Ross Barkley over his penalty miss that cost Chelsea a Champions League draw against Valencia, confirming the midfielder was his team’s designated taker. 
The 1-0 defeat meant that Lampard became the first Chelsea head coach to lose his first Champions League match in charge and already leaves the club with a tough task to qualify from Group H. 
Rodrigo shocked the hosts by putting Valencia ahead and Barkley squandered a great chance to net a late equaliser from the spot after stepping off the substitutes’ bench. 
Barkley took the ball after the penalty was awarded, following a Video Assistant Referee review, but his preparations were delayed by Jorginho and Willian. 
It appeared the pair, who have also taken penalties in their careers, both questioned whether or not Barkley should have been taking the kick before he sent his effort against the top of the crossbar and over. 
The incident prompted debate over whether or not Barkley should have given the ball to one of his team-mates, but Lampard said: “Ross is the penalty taker, he was in pre-season and scored a couple. He has been when he started, he was when he came on today and he missed it. That is the clear story.” 

window.clientlibs.js.twitter_js = {
test: “document.querySelectorAll && document.querySelectorAll(‘.twitter-follow-button, .twitter-tweet, .twitter-timeline’).length === 0”,
load: [“//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js”]
};

window.clientlibs.js.ooyala_core = {
test: true,
load: [“/etc/designs/telegraph/core/clientlibs/core/vendor/ooyala/ooyala-player.min.js”, “https://sb.scorecardresearch.com/c2/plugins/streamingtag_plugin_ooyalav4.js”]
};
window.clientlibs.js.facebook_sdk = {
test: “document.querySelectorAll && document.querySelectorAll(‘.fb-page’).length === 0”,
load: [“//connect.facebook.net/en_GB/sdk.js”]
};


Source link